Seth Green takes on Star Wars (again)

I stumbled across this video late (laaaate) last night…

As a die-hard Star Wars fan I’m happy and worried at the same time, but I’m willing to give it a shot since I’m not a total ass. Let’s just take a look at the details for now.

THE FACTS

  • Robot Chicken creators Seth Green and Matt Senreich have been tasked with making an animated short comedy series. CGI, not their usual “claymation on bath salts” style.
  • The characters are a mix of some of the newer (and in my opinion most annoying) characters from the prequel trilogy, such as Jar Jar Binks and Dexter “Dex” Jettster… the names alone make me cringe… mixed with a healthy amount of the lovable older characters, from Greedo to Lando to old man Obi Wan.
  • It’s set at a point in time between Revenge of the Sith and A New Hope (explaining the character mashup) and is showing the lives of the character in an everyday capacity.
  • The show has not yet been picked up by a network or given a release date.

SOME OTHER OPINIONS

I’ve read a few different opinions on this, from some real seething hateful ones, to more mild and even hopeful takes on it. So most people are ranging from skeptical optimism to berserker rage. I’m seeing little to no real excitement for it, which is kinda normal when it comes to new Star Wars anything. It seems that this show will probably get decent reception despite the warcries from fanboys that want to kill Lucas in his sleep.

MY OPINION

While I often feel like I’m being stabbed in the throat by George Lucas myself, I can’t say that I hate all new Star Wars everything. I’m intrigued by the expansion of the universe and can take everything with a grain of salt. I want to break my face against a wall when I see things like Jar Jar Binks, but you have to admit having deeper insight into things like the Mandelorians is pretty cool. I just try to ignore the things I don’t like.

As for this latest piece of Star Wars news I’m having a hard time getting on board. When I saw the trailer originally I laughed a little, the second time not so much… and then I watched the clips. Not one of them were really that funny. My lack of excitement for this show might be based on a few different things. First of all I’m not the biggest fan of Robot Chicken. I find it gets old REALLY fast. The second point being that I’m not sure if I’ll be able to handle the way the characters are represented. It just seems like they go completely against my ideals of them and while I know it’s supposed to be satire it sometimes feels a little insulting. My third point of contention with this show is that I just think the jokes are bad. Not all of them, mind you, but really watch the clips they have on YouTube… they just aren’t so good. A little vanilla and obvious, Mr. Green, I expected more from someone who often works closely with Seth Macfarlane. Oddly the kiddy way it’s animated doesn’t bother me at all.

THE OFFICIAL VERDICT?

Ummmmmm……… I’m just not sure what to think. I guess we’ll all have to wait and see what happens when the actual show comes out… all I can say is that I’m a little scared.

Talk to me

