Geekin’ out on Level Up

I was having a craving for something new and nerdy. I hit up my usual methods of internet scouring and came across a show called Level Up. The title screamed gamer and nerd, so I gave it a look. It’s still in it’s first season, but quite a ways in. 20 episodes to be exact. I’m on episode 7 and I just can’t stop watching! I’m actually watching as I write…Level Up promo shot

A QUICK WALKTHROUGH

Level Up is about a group of high school gamers that inadvertently unleash a horde of online enemies on their quiet little hometown of Daventry Hills. After figuring out that their online personas, who are all part of the same clan in the game, all go to the same high school IRL (that’s ‘in real life’ for all non-gamers out there). They don’t run in the same circles (as TV writing law dictates) with one being a typical nerd, one a slacker and one a jock. As you would expect they don’t get along at first, but eventually band together and figure out how to get these otherworldly animated baddies back to their circuit boards.

SO WHAT DO I THINK?

The show is cute, quick-witted, and cheesy as hell. The weapons they use from the game to dispatch the video game “leaks”, as they call them, seem like they come from some sort of WOW/Ratchet and Clank/Team Fortress 2 hybrid, which is pretty cool. It’s well written, geeky, rediculous, and reminds me of some of my favourite shows. There’s just one thing… I figured there would be more monsters, fighting, and butt kicking. The pilot/movie had a bit more of it than a lot of the episodes, but it’s still holds up.

As I said, I can’t stop watching. It’s like a live-action kids cartoon for online gamers. Almost all the main characters seem familiar although I’ve never seen them before… and it kinda makes me crazy that I can’t put my finger on who they remind me of. I am really enjoying it though, and give it an overall solid.

Talk to me

